top of page

CMA Awards Nominations Full List: Lainey Wilson, Taylor Swift, Luke Combs & More!

Buckle up, y’all- it’s that time of year again. This morning, the Country Music Association announced the nominees for its 56th annual awards show.

"It's thrilling to celebrate these deserving nominees while our industry is returning to live music," said CMA Chief Executive Officer Sarah Trahern in a recent press release. "This year's slate is impressive, with some nominees logging historic milestones while others are just getting started. No matter what stage in their career, they each bring a unique voice and unforgettable story to life, showing that Country Music is stronger than ever! We look forward to honoring them this November."

With her first six CMA nods, rising star Lainey Wilson tops the list. Only three other artists have previously achieved this many nominations at their first CMAs - Glen Campbell, Brad Paisley, and Kacey Musgraves. Her upcoming album, Bell Bottom Country, is set to release on October 28th. Earlier this year, she took home ACM’s New Female Artist of the Year award. Additionally, Billboard named her the Top New Country Artist of 2021. As her career is truly beginning to flourish, a “speechless” Wilson thanked the country music community on social media.

Ashley McBride, Carly Pearce, Chris Stapleton, and producer/songwriter Shane McAnally closely follow Wilson with five nods each.

This year’s nominations also see Taylor Swift’s return to the country music scene. The global superstar is currently re-recording her back catalogue with a new label on her own terms; most recently, she put out Red (Taylor’s Version). Her re-recorded albums feature “vault” tracks, or songs that her previous label did not let her release. Among them is the poignant “I Bet You Think About Me,” featuring Chris Stapleton. The song’s accompanying music video scored Blake Lively her first ever CMA nomination.

CMA’s reigning Entertainer of the Year, Luke Combs, will be up against Carrie Underwood, Morgan Wallen, Chris Stapleton, and Miranda Lambert for his second shot at the award.

Country superstar Luke Bryan will be hosting the awards show with former NFL quarterback, Peyton Manning of the Denver Broncos.

Full list of nominees:


  • Luke Combs

  • Miranda Lambert

  • Chris Stapleton

  • Carrie Underwood

  • Morgan Wallen

SINGLE OF THE YEAR Award goes to Artist(s), Producer(s) and Mix Engineer 

  • “Buy Dirt” – Jordan Davis featuring Luke Bryan Producer: Paul DiGiovanni Mix Engineer: Jim Cooley

  • "half of my hometown” – Kelsea Ballerini (feat. Kenny Chesney) Producers: Kelsea Ballerini, Ross Copperman, Jimmy Robbins Mix Engineer: Dan Grech-Marguerat

  • “Never Wanted To Be That Girl” – Carly Pearce and Ashley McBryde Producers: Shane McAnally, Josh Osborne Mix Engineer: Ryan Gore

  • “'Til You Can't” – Cody Johnson Producer: Trent Willmon Mix Engineer: Jack Clarke

  • “You Should Probably Leave” – Chris Stapleton Producers: Dave Cobb, Chris Stapleton Mix Engineer: Vance Powell

ALBUM OF THE YEAR Award goes to Artist(s), Producer(s) and Mix Engineer(s)

  • Growin' Up – Luke Combs Producers: Luke Combs, Chip Matthews, Jonathan Singleton Mix Engineers: Jim Cooley, Chip Matthews

  • Humble Quest – Maren Morris Producer: Greg Kurstin Mix Engineer: Serban Ghenea

  • Palomino – Miranda Lambert Producers: Luke Dick, Miranda Lambert, Jon Randall, Mikey Reaves Mix Engineer: Jason Lehning

  • Sayin' What I'm Thinkin' – Lainey Wilson Producer: Jay Joyce Mix Engineer: F. Reid Shippen

  • Time, Tequila & Therapy – Old Dominion Producers: Shane McAnally, Old Dominion Mix Engineer: Justin Niebank

SONG OF THE YEAR Award goes to Songwriter(s) 

  • “Buy Dirt” Songwriters: Jacob Davis, Jordan Davis, Josh Jenkins, Matt Jenkins

  • “Never Wanted To Be That Girl” Songwriters: Shane McAnally, Ashley McBryde, Carly Pearce

  • “Sand In My Boots” Songwriters: Ashley Gorley, Michael Hardy, Josh Osborne

  • “Things A Man Oughta Know” Songwriters: Jason Nix, Jonathan Singleton, Lainey Wilson

  • “You Should Probably Leave” Songwriters: Chris DuBois, Ashley Gorley, Chris Stapleton


  • Miranda Lambert

  • Ashley McBryde

  • Carly Pearce

  • Carrie Underwood

  • Lainey Wilson


  • Eric Church

  • Luke Combs

  • Cody Johnson

  • Chris Stapleton

  • Morgan Wallen


  • Lady A

  • Little Big Town

  • Midland

  • Old Dominion

  • Zac Brown Band


  • Brooks & Dunn

  • Brothers Osborne

  • Dan + Shay


  • Maddie & Tae

MUSICAL EVENT OF THE YEAR Award goes to Artist(s) and Producer(s) 

  • “Beers On Me” – Dierks Bentley with BRELAND & HARDY Producers: Dierks Bentley, Ross Copperman

  • “If I Didn't Love You” – Jason Aldean & Carrie Underwood Producer: Michael Knox

  • “Longneck Way To Go” – Midland (featuring Jon Pardi) Producers: Dann Huff, Shane McAnally, Josh Osborne

  • “Never Say Never” – Cole Swindell (with Lainey Wilson) Producer: Zach Crowell

  • “Never Wanted To Be That Girl” – Carly Pearce and Ashley McBryde Producers: Shane McAnally, Josh Osborne


  • Jenee Fleenor, Fiddle

  • Paul Franklin, Steel guitar

  • Brent Mason, Guitar

  • Ilya Toshinskiy, Banjo

  • Derek Wells, Guitar

MUSIC VIDEO OF THE YEAR   Award goes to Artist(s) and Director(s) 

  • “I Bet You Think About Me” (Taylor’s Version) (From The Vault) – Taylor Swift (featuring Chris Stapleton) Director: Blake Lively

  • “Longneck Way To Go” – Midland (featuring Jon Pardi) Director: Harper Smith

  • “Never Say Never” – Cole Swindell (with Lainey Wilson) Director: Michael Monaco

  • “Never Wanted To Be That Girl” – Carly Pearce and Ashley McBryde Director: Alexa Campbell

  • “'Til You Can't” – Cody Johnson Director: Dustin Haney



  • Walker Hayes

  • Cody Johnson

  • Parker McCollum

  • Lainey Wilson

Does your organization or artist have something to promote?
Submit to us at

bottom of page